^ Choose a city or town above to find local alternative fuel stations.
^ Electric, biodiesel, hydrogen, liquified natural gas, ethanol, propane & more.
^ Select a city/town in the list above to see a full list of alternative fuel stations.
Tax incentives and/or other rebates, credits, incentives or related initiaves for drivers of alternative fuel vehicles or for other uses of alternative fuel in Kansas.
An income tax credit is available for 40% of the incremental or conversion cost for qualified AFVs, based on gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) as outlined in the table below. Qualified AFVs include vehicles that operate on a combustible liquid derived from grain starch, oil seed, animal fat, or other biomass, or produced from a biogas source.
|Less than 10,000 pounds (lbs.)||Up to $2,400|
|10,000 to 26,000 lbs.||Up to $4,000|
|Over 26,000 lbs.||Up to $40,000|
Alternatively, a tax credit of 5% of the cost of the AFV, up to $750, is available for the purchase of an original equipment manufacturer AFV. This credit is allowed only to the first individual to take title of the vehicle. For motor vehicles capable of operating on E85, the individual claiming the credit must provide evidence of purchasing at least 500 gallons of E85 between the time the vehicle was purchased and December 31, of the following calendar year. Excess credits may be carried over for up to three years after the year in which the expenditures were made. The credit is only available to entities with corporate income tax liability. For more information, see the Alternative Fuel Tax Credit page. (Reference Kansas Statutes 79-32,201)
Low-speed vehicles may only travel on roadways with a posted speed limit of up to 40 miles per hour (mph). A low-speed vehicle is any four-wheeled electric vehicle whose top speed is at least 20 mph but not more than 25 mph and is manufactured in compliance federal standards for low-speed vehicles as referenced in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. Additional conditions apply. (Reference Kansas Statutes 8-1488, 8-15,101, 8-1701, and 8-2118)
Any vehicle or combination of vehicles equipped with idle reduction technology may exceed the state's gross and axle weight limits by up to 400 pounds (lbs.) to compensate for the additional weight of the idle reduction technology. Upon request, vehicle operators must provide proof that the idle reduction technology is fully functional. A vehicle primarily powered by natural gas may exceed the state's gross vehicle weight limits by a weight equal to the difference between the weight of the vehicle with the natural gas tank and fueling system and the weight of a comparable vehicle with a diesel tank and fueling system. The NGV maximum gross weight may not exceed 82,000 lbs. (Reference Kansas Statutes 8-1908, 8-1909, and 8-1917)
CFCU offers loans to individuals and businesses that purchase new or converted compressed natural gas (CNG) vehicles. Conversion systems must be U.S. Environmental Protection Agency certified and installed by an insured and state licensed facility. New vehicle loans are available at amounts up to the manufacturer's suggested retail price plus the cost of the conversion. Pre-owned or CFCU member owned vehicles with a CNG fuel system or conversion installation are eligible for loans at up to 115% of the National Automobile Dealers Association suggested retail value. All financing is at CFCU standard auto loan rates. CFCU also offers loans for the cost of home fueling equipment. For more information, see the CFCU CNG Loans website.
Kansas Gas Service offers rebates for NGV purchases or conversions in the amount of $1,000 for a dedicated or bi-fuel vehicle. Each applicant is limited to three rebates per calendar year. Compressed natural gas (CNG) equipment must be certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or California Air Resources Board. Kansas Gas Service will distribute rebates on a first-come, first-served basis, until program funds are exhausted. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including the online rebate application form, please see the CNG Rebate Program website.
Kansas residents are eligible for a rebate from the Kansas Soybean Commission of up to $2,000 for fleets or $200 for individuals, for using biodiesel blends above 5% in diesel-powered vehicles. For more information, including how to apply, see the Metropolitan Energy Center Biodiesel Rebate website.
Beginning January 1, 2020, the annual registration fee for all-electric vehicle owners is $100 and the plug-in hybrid electric vehicle and HEV annual fee is $50. (Reference House Bill 2214, 2019)