^ Choose a city or town above to find local alternative fuel stations.
^ Electric, biodiesel, hydrogen, liquified natural gas, ethanol, propane & more.
^ Select a city/town in the list above to see a full list of alternative fuel stations.
Tax incentives and/or other rebates, credits, incentives or related initiaves for drivers of alternative fuel vehicles or for other uses of alternative fuel in Michigan.
Dedicated AFVs powered by compressed natural gas, propane, electricity, or any other source as defined by the Michigan Department of Transportation are exempt from emissions inspection requirements. (Reference Michigan Compiled Laws 324.6311 and 324.6512)
DTE Energy offers three rate options to qualified residential customers for charging PEVs. For rate information, including how to qualify, see the DTE Energy PEV Rates website.
Consumers Energy offers a special time-of-use rate option for PEV owners. For more information, see the Consumers Energy Smart Hours website.
Alternative fuels are taxed equal to the motor fuel tax on a gallon equivalent basis. Alternative fuels include natural gas, propane, hydrogen, and hythane. A gallon equivalent is defined as 5.660 pounds (lbs.) of compressed natural gas, 6.06 lbs. of liquefied natural gas, 480.11 standard cubic feet of hydrogen, and 162.44 standard cubic feet of hydrogen compressed natural gas. A gallon of propane is measured as 4 quarts or 3.785 liters. (Reference Michigan Compiled Laws 207.1003, 207.1151, and 207.1152)
In addition to standard registration fees, PEVs, including all-electric vehicles (EVs) and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) with a minimum battery capacity of 4 kilowatt-hours, are subject to an annual fee. The specific fees are as follows:
|Vehicle Type||Gross Vehicle Weight Rating||Fee|
|PHEV||8,000 pounds (lbs.) or less||$30|
|PHEV||> 8,000 lbs.||$100|
|EV||8,000 lbs. or less||$100|
|EV||> 8,000 lbs.||$200|
PHEV fees will increase by $2.50 per $0.01 that the state motor fuel tax exceeds $0.19 and EV fees will increase by $5.00 per $0.01 that the state motor fuel tax exceeds $0.19.
(Reference Michigan Compiled Laws 257.801)
A vehicle primarily powered by natural gas may exceed the state's axle and weight loading limits by a weight equal to the difference between the weight of the vehicle with the natural gas tank and fueling system and the weight of a comparable vehicle with a diesel tank and fueling system. The NGV maximum gross weight may not exceed 82,000 pounds. (Reference Michigan Compiled Laws Section 257.722)
DTE Energy offers a $500 rebate for the installation of a Level 2 EVSE for qualified residential customers that purchase or lease a plug-in electric vehicle (PEV) and enroll in the PEV Charging Rates. For more information, including eligibility, see the DTE Energy Charging Forward website.
Vehicles converted to run on propane that are model year 2015 or newer are eligible for a $4,000 rebate per vehicle, up to $16,000 per customer, through December 31, 2021. For more information, including vehicle restrictions and requirements, see the Michigan Propane Gas Association Grant Opportunities website.
The Consumers Energy PowerMIDrive program offers rebates to residential and commercial customers who install Level 2 or direct current (DC) fast EVSE. Residential customers are eligible for a $500 rebate to install a qualified Level 2 EVSE. Commercial customers installing qualified, publicly accessible EVSE are eligible for rebates up to $5,000 per Level 2 EVSE and up to $70,000 per DC fast EVSE installed. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the PowerMIDrive website.
Indiana Michigan Power offers a special time-of-use rate option to residential customers who own a qualified PEV.For more information, see the Indiana Michigan Power Rates, Programs & Incentives website.