Sorry, there aren't any alternative fuel stations in or near Crestone.
Above is a complete list of alternative fuel locations in or near Crestone, CO: biodiesel; compressed natural gas (CNG); ethanol (E85); electric; hydrogen; liquefied natural gas (LNG), liquefied petroleum gas (propane) & more.
Tax incentives and/or other rebates, credits, incentives or related initiaves for drivers of alternative fuel vehicles or for other uses of alternative fuel in Crestone, CO.
Vehicles, vehicle power sources, or parts used for converting a vehicle power source to reduce emissions are exempt from state sales and use tax. Exempt vehicles include vehicles certified to federal LEV standards that have a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of over 26,000 pounds (lbs.). The exemption also applies if the GVWR is greater than 10,000 lbs. and if the vehicle, power source, or parts used for converting the power source meet the definition of a category 4, 4A, 4B, 4C, 7, or 7A truck, as defined in Colorado Revised Statutes 39-22-516.8. The vehicle power source includes the engine or motor and associated wiring, fuel lines, engine coolant system, fuel storage containers, and other components. (Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 39-26-719)
Gross vehicle weight rating limits for AFVs are 2,000 pounds greater than those for comparable conventional vehicles, as long as the AFVs operate using an alternative fuel or both alternative and conventional fuel, when operating on a highway that is not part of the interstate system. For the purpose of this exemption, alternative fuel is defined as compressed natural gas, propane, ethanol, or any mixture containing 85% or more ethanol (E85) with gasoline or other fuels, electricity, or any other fuels, which may include clean diesel and reformulated gasoline, so long as the Colorado Air Quality Control Commission determines that these other fuels result in comparable reductions in carbon monoxide emissions and brown cloud pollutants. (Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 42-4-508 and 24-30-1104 (2)(c)(III)(A))
Upon registering a motor vehicle with the Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles, the vehicle owner must report the type of alternative fuel used to operate the vehicle and whether the vehicle is dedicated to one alternative fuel or uses more than one fuel. The Department of Revenue provides forms for the purpose of registering motor vehicles and must include space for the following fuel types: gasoline, diesel, propane, electricity, natural gas, methanol/M85, ethanol/E85, biodiesel, and other. For more information, see the Colorado Department of Revenue Division of Motor Vehicles website. (Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 42-3-113)
The Colorado Energy Office (CEO) and Regional Air Quality Council (RAQC) provide grants through the Charge Ahead Colorado program to support PEV and EVSE adoption by individual drivers and fleets. Both CEO and RAQC grants will fund 80% of the cost of EVSE, up to $6,000 for a fleet-only Level 2 station, $9,000 for a dual port Level 2 station, up to $35,000 for a direct current (DC) fast charging EVSE, and up to $50,000 for a charging station capable of 100kW or higher charging. Eligible DC fast EVSE must have both CHAdeMO and SAE CCS J1772 connectors and be capable of providing at least 50 kilowatts to one vehicle.
CEO administers grants outside the Denver Metro Area while RAQC administers grants inside the Denver Metro Area. Eligible EVSE applicants are local governments, including school districts; state/federal agencies; public universities; public transit agencies; private non-profit or for-profit corporations; landlords of multi-unit dwellings; and owners associations of common interest communities. For vehicle funding, priority will be given to organizations that are excluded from the Colorado Innovative Motor Vehicle Credit. Criteria and eligibility differ depending on which agency provides funding. For more information, including application deadlines, see the Charge Ahead Colorado Grant Application website.(Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 24-38.5-103)
A low-speed EV is self-propelled using electricity as its primary propulsion method, has at least three wheels in contact with the ground, does not use handlebars to steer, displays a vehicle identification number, and meets manufacturer requirements as defined in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations section 565. A low-speed EV may be operated on a roadway with a speed limit of up to 40 miles per hour (mph) as long as the roadway's lane is at least 11 feet wide, the roadway provides two or more lanes in either direction, and the Colorado Department of Transportation has determined that operation of a low-speed EV on the roadway poses no substantial safety risk. Otherwise, a low-speed EV may only be operated on a roadway with a speed limit of 35 mph or less. Regardless, a low-speed EV may directly cross any roadway with a speed limit greater than 35 mph.A Class-B low-speed EV is defined as a low-speed EV that is capable of traveling at greater than 25 mph but less than 45 mph. A Class-B low-speed EV may be operated only on a roadway with a speed limit of 45 mph or less, but may directly cross a roadway with a speed limit greater than 45 mph. The Colorado Department of Revenue may not register or issue a title for a Class-B low-speed EV until after the U.S. Department of Transportation has adopted a federal motor vehicle safety standard for low-speed EVs that authorizes operation at greater than 25 mph but less than 45 mph. Neither a low-speed EV nor a Class-B low-speed EV may be operated on a limited-access highway.
(Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 42-1-102, 42-4-109.5, 42-4-109.6)
Compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefied natural gas (LNG), and propane are subject to excise tax imposed on a per gallon basis as follows:
PEV owners must pay an annual fee of $50, in addition to other registration fees, for a PEV decal. For registration periods beginning during Fiscal Year 2022 and every subsequent year, the Colorado Department of Revenue is authorized to adjust the registration fee for inflation. Additionally, beginning in FY 2022, the state may collect a PEV road usage equalization fee at the time of registration. Registration fees for each fiscal year are as follows:
|Fiscal Year||All-Electric Vehicle Fee||Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle Fee|
Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity are exempt from state motor vehicle emissions inspections. For more information, see the Air Care Colorado website. (Reference 1 Code of Colorado Regulations 204-11 Rule 2)
Qualified PEVs titled and registered in Colorado are eligible for a tax credit. Light-duty PEVs purchased, leased, or converted before January 1, 2026, are eligible for a tax credit equal to the amounts below, per calendar year:
|Light-duty PEV||$2,500 for purchase or conversion; $1,500 for lease||$2,000 for purchase; $1,500 for lease|
|Light-duty electric truck||3,500 for purchase or conversion; $1,750 for lease||$2,800 for purchase; $1,750 for lease|
|Medium-duty electric truck||$5,000 for purchase or conversion; $2,500 for lease||$4,000 for purchase; $2,500 for lease|
|Heavy-duty electric truck||$10,000 for purchase or conversion; $5,000 for lease||$8,000 for purchase; $5,000 for lease|
Tax credits for conversations are available until January 1, 2022. The credit amount for any qualifying truck is limited to the difference in manufacturer's suggested retail price between the qualifying truck and a comparable truck that operates on either gasoline or diesel fuel. The credit that may be claimed for converting a truck to a qualifying truck is limited to the cost of conversion.
Eligible purchased vehicles must be new, and eligible leased vehicles must have a lease term of not less than two years. A purchaser may assign the tax credit generated through the purchase, lease, or conversion to any of the above categories of vehicle to the financing entity, allowing the purchaser to realize the value of the tax credit at the time of purchase, lease, or conversion. The financing entity may collect an administrative fee of no more than $150.
For more information, see the Colorado Department of Revenue's Income 69 FYI publication.
(Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 39-22-516.7 and 39-22-516.8)
AFVs titled and registered in Colorado are eligible for a tax credit. For the purpose of the credit, AFVs are defined as dedicated or bi-fuel natural gas and propane vehicles. The tax credit is equal to the amounts listed below, per calendar year:
|Light-duty passenger motor vehicle||$2,500 for purchase or conversion; $1,500 for lease||$2,000 for purchase; $1,500 for lease|
|Light-duty truck||$3,500 for purchase or conversion; $1,750 for lease||$3,500 for purchase; $1,750 for lease|
|Medium-duty truck||$5,000 for purchase or conversion; $2,500 for lease||$5,000 for purchase; $2,500 for lease|
|Heavy-duty truck||$10,000 for purchase or conversion; $5,000 for lease||$10,000 for purchase; $5,000 for lease|
Tax credits are available through December 31, 2021. Eligible purchased vehicles must be new, and eligible leased vehicles must have a lease with a term of not less than two years. A purchaser may assign the tax credit generated through the purchase, lease, or conversion to any of the above categories of vehicle to the financing entity, allowing the purchaser to realize the value of the tax credit at the time of purchase, lease, or conversion. The financing entity may collect an administrative fee of no more than $150.
(Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 39-22-516.7 and 39-22-516.8)
The town of Crestone (CO) in Saguache County has an estimated population of 127.
There are currently at least 0 alternative fuel stations in or near Crestone, CO (10-mile radius).
The majority of alternative fuels are intended to be used in transportation.