^ Choose a city or town above to find local alternative fuel stations.
^ Electric, biodiesel, hydrogen, liquified natural gas, ethanol, propane & more.
^ Select a city/town in the list above to see a full list of alternative fuel stations.
Tax incentives and/or other rebates, credits, incentives or related initiaves for drivers of alternative fuel vehicles or for other uses of alternative fuel in Alabama.
The state road tax for vehicles that operate on propane (liquefied petroleum gas or LPG) is paid through the purchase of an annual flat fee sticker, and the amount is based on the vehicle's gross vehicle weight rating. Each person owning and/or operating a vehicle that operates on propane must obtain a decal annually from the Alabama LPG Board. The decal must be affixed to the vehicle according to LPG Board specification as proof that the issuance fee and decal fee have been paid. Vehicle owners must apply for a decal within 10 days of converting a vehicle to operate on propane, or a 20% penalty will be applied to the decal fee. Out-of-state alternative fuel vehicle operators that purchase propane within the state must pay the current Alabama motor fuel tax or they may elect to purchase the annual flat fee decal. The propane dealer or supplier must remit these funds to the LPG Board before the 20th of the month following the date of sale.Similarly, the Alabama Department of Revenue administers an excise tax on compressed natural gas (CNG) and liquefied natural gas (LNG) used as vehicle fuel. Taxes are applied in the following amounts: CNG:
Any motor vehicle equipped with an auxiliary power unit (APU) or other idle reduction technology may exceed the gross, axle, tandem, or bridge formula weight limits by up to 400 pounds (lbs.). To be eligible for the weight exemption, the vehicle operator must be able to provide written proof or certification of the weight of the APU and demonstrate or certify that the idle reduction technology is fully functional at all times. Any NGV may exceed the limits by up to 2,000 lbs. (Reference Code of Alabama 32-9-20)
Alabama Power offers a time-of-use (TOU) rate to business customers to charge fleet PEVs. Alabama Power also offers a TOU rate to residential customers that own a PEV. To be eligible, both business and residential customers must separately meter electricity used for PEV charging. For more information, see the Alabama Power Business Rates and Pricing and Residential Time Advantage Rates websites.
Effective January 1, 2020, PEV owners must pay an annual fee in addition to standard registration fees. All-electric vehicle owners must pay an annual fee of $200 and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle owners must pay an annual fee of $100. Beginning July 1, 2023 and every fourth year thereafter, PEV fees will increase by $3. A portion of fees contribute to the Electric Transportation Infrastructure Grant Program, which provides grants for electric vehicle supply equipment. (Reference Code of Alabama 40-12-242)